I represent clients in all drunk driving offenses, including:
When you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated 3rd offense then you need to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can provide the best legal defense for a drunk driving offense.
How much time can I get for a third DWI?
A Third Offense for Driving While Intoxicated is a Third-Degree Felony in Texas, and is punishable by:
- Two to 10 years in prison and/or up to $10,000 in fines.
- Probation for as long as five years, which would also include mandatory jail time and driver's license suspension for as long as two years.
How far back do prior DWI convictions go?
You should also know that there is no limit on how long ago your prior DWI convictions occurred, the state of Texas can use any prior DWI conviction to enhance your current charge of Driving While Intoxicated 3rd Offense.
Texas Penal Code Section 49.09. ENHANCED OFFENSES AND PENALTIES. (b) An offense under Section 49.04, 49.05, 49.06, or 49.065 is a felony of the third degree if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the person has previously been convicted: ...(2) two times of any other offense relating to the operating of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, operating an aircraft while intoxicated, operating a watercraft while intoxicated, or operating or assembling an amusement ride while intoxicated.