Arrested for DWI Third Offense

If you have been arrested for DWI third offense, then you need to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can provide the best legal defense for a drunk driving offense.

How much time can I get if I am arrested for DWI Third Offense?

If you’ve been arrested for DWI  third offense which is a Third-Degree Felony in Texas, that is punishable from two years to 10-years in prison and/or up to a $10,000 fine.  It is possible to get probation for your DWI third offense.  Probation can last as long as ten years, which would also include mandatory jail time and driver’s license suspension which can last as long as two years.  Also, there is no early termination of a DWI probation.

Is there a time limit on use of prior DWI convictions?

There is no limit on how long ago your prior DWI convictions occurred. The state of Texas can use any prior DWI conviction to enhance your current charge to a DWI third offense.

Texas Penal Code Section 49.09. ENHANCED OFFENSES AND PENALTIES.

(b) An offense under Section 49.04, 49.05, 49.06, or 49.065 is a felony of the third degree if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the person has previously been convicted: …(2) two times of any other offense relating to the operating of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, operating an aircraft while intoxicated, operating a watercraft while intoxicated, or operating or assembling an amusement ride while intoxicated.

25+ Years of Experience